Real Madrid president Florentino Perez insists the founding members of the European Super League cannot leave.


The six Premier League clubs involved – Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Arsenal, Tottenham and Chelsea – have since withdrawn due to a public backlash, along with AC Milan, Inter Milan and Atletico Madrid.


Real, Barcelona and Juventus remain, but Florentino says: “We are calm, because of what we have, we have won. The English teams were coerced.


“They signed something they shouldn’t have signed, because they are committed to the Super League. They wanted to punish them, and the courts have said no.


“There is a binding contract and no-one can leave. The Super League continues. We went to the judge who made a ruling and said the Super League cannot be touched. UEFA cannot do anything to the people or the clubs.


“It’s stopped. Now the court in Luxembourg must decide.”


In attempting to justify the ongoing need for the ESL, Perez claimed Real Madrid had missed out on £430m (500m euros) due to the impact of the coronavirus pandemic.


“We have been working on this for two years,” he said to El Transistor. “It’s a format to prevent football, which is losing interest, from dying.


“Real Madrid has suffered two very hard years. In two years we have missed out on 500m euros.


“We are not excluding anyone, but everyone can’t be there. A Roma-Sampdoria has less interest than a Manchester-Paris Saint-Germain. The fans are in charge here.”

By Scopie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.